#bookreview The Foyles Bookshop Girls by Elaine Roberts

Bookseller synopsis:

London, 1914: one ordinary day, three girls arrive for work at London’s renowned Foyles bookshop. But when war with Germany is declared their lives will never be the same again… Alice has always been the ‘sensible’ one in her family – especially in comparison with her suffrage-supporting sister! But decidedly against her father’s wishes, she accepts a job at Foyles Bookshop; and for bookworm Alice it’s a dream come true. But with the country at war, Alice’s happy world is shattered in an instant. Determined to do what she can, Alice works in the bookshop by day, and risks her own life driving an ambulance around bomb-ravaged London by night. But however busy she keeps herself, she can’t help but think of the constant danger those she loves are facing on the frontline… Alice, Victoria and Molly couldn’t be more different and yet they share a friendship that stems back to their childhood – a friendship that provides everyday solace from the tribulations and heartbreak of war. Perfect for fans of Elaine Everest, Daisy Styles and Rosie Hendry. Look out for the next book in the series, The Foyles Bookshop Girls at War.

My reading experience:

The reader is introduced to Alice, Molly and Victoria, allegedly best friends but seemingly separated by their individual circumstances. Victoria is still grieving for her parents and struggling with her new found financial hardship in stark contrast to Alice’s life. Molly is walking out with a womanizer desperate to find the same loving relationship that Alice has found.They all work together at Foyles bookshop. And that is about as much bookshop story that is included in this story. I felt quite disappointed that this book wasn’t about working at Foyles but the story of friendship, wartime and perseverance was moving.

At the start of the war, the young men of this story all enlist and lives are changed forever. The author captured the excitement and jingoism of 1914, boys scrambling to be men and girls and women all too eager to encourage them. This is Alice’s story.

I really enjoyed this story in the end. Quite a long read but light and easy, making it a perfect escape. I’m looking forward to reading The Foyles Bookshop Girls at War, Mollys story.

Advertisement

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s