#bookreview Christmas at the Foyles Bookshop by Elaine Roberts

Synopsis:

With the war raging on, can there be peace, love and joy this Christmas? London, 1917. After her parents died in a tragic accident, Victoria did everything she could to keep her siblings safe and off the streets. Working at the Foyles Bookshop with her best friends is a dream come true – but now the war has put everything she holds dear in danger. With her brother fighting on the frontline, Victoria wants to do her part. Little does she know that volunteering to spend time with injured soldiers at Endell Street Military Hospital will reward her in ways she could never have imagined. There are family secrets to uncover, along with love, once lost but never forgotten. This Christmas, all the Foyles girls want is their loved ones back safe and sound… The final heartwarming novel in the Foyles Girls trilogy, Christmas at the Foyles Bookshop is perfect for fans of Daisy Styles and Rosie Hendry.

My reading experience:

Having waited until the Christmas season to read the third book in the trilogy I could not wait to revisit the lives of Alice, Victoria and Molly. This book is set in 1917 and focuses more on Foyles, and the absences created from the war – the missing men.

This third story is about Victoria, her sister Daisy and absent brother Stephen who is at the Front, whose parents died suddenly in a train crash seven years earlier. Getting her bearings as Mr Leadbetter’s new floor manager, Victoria has also decided that now is the time to clean out her parents room, and in doing so makes several surprising discoveries. Victoria is still waiting to hear from her first love Ted Marsden who is fighting at the front, and as the story nears towards Christmas, communication comes from Ted in an unexpected way.

I highly recommend Christmas at the Foyles Bookshop by Elaine Roberts, and hope that you too, will enjoy the trilogy.

The Foyles Bookshop Girls by Elaine Roberts

The Foyles Bookshop Girls at War by Elaine Roberts

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s