#poetryreview Mutton dressed as poetry by Jan Miklaszewicz

A ragbag of warm, reflective, sometimes huffy poems.

Best read on park benches, in checkout queues, and during work breaks.

Pairs well with caffeinated beverages.

My reading experience:

This is a collection of heartfelt, authentic poems that I thoroughly enjoyed. Some gave me pause because they resonated deeply with me, others were subtly cynical, but all are observations on a life lived in this crazy world.

In You are what you, I found “it takes time to let yourself off the hook” to be a powerful line in the same way that in Ode to nuance, “catastrophising leaves such little time for you, don’t you think?” is.

I loved the nostalgia of Old song, the rawness in Disdain, and the love felt in Blessed.

Enjoy.

I highly recommend Mutton dressed as poetry by Jan Miklaszewicz. See my review of The Promise here.

Leave a comment